📖 Life-Changing Things I’ve Read Lately

📝 Doctor Kenji's Notes

Hey guys! I hope you all had a fantastic week. For this week’s newsletter, I wanted to share 3 quotes from others, 2 questions for you and 1 idea from me. Enjoy!

3 Quote From Others

I.

3-2-1: On Endless Pursuits, the Value of Courage, and How to Buy Back Your Time 

"The wedding is an event, love is a practice. The graduation is an event, education is a practice. The race is an event, fitness is a practice. The heart, mind, and body are endless pursuits."

II.

And although I agree that work can give people a sense of independence and purpose, paid labor is not the only means to that end. There are millions of parents and caregivers whose work is no less dignified because it is unpaid. There are millions of Americans who lost their jobs during the pandemic who are no less worthy of respect because they were let go—often through no fault of their own. To decouple our human needs from our employment status is to declare that each of us has worth whether or not we have a full-time job. It creates a foundation upon which we can think more expansively about what it means to do good work, but also what it means to live a good life. It allows us to rest without the door wide open.

III.

We self-select to play life on hard mode. It’s a hidden choice. And if we make it, then life gets 10x easier. Let me explain. Hard Mode = Easy Mode What the hell? Yep. Most people don’t want to play hard games in life. As soon as they hear an idea is hard they either reject it, or even funnier, they add it to the “someday” list. My friend Zach Pogrob says “Some stop because it's hard. Some start because it's hard.”

2 Questions for You

I.

“What have you done this week that has gotten you closer to where you said you wanted to be?”

II.

“How do you want to feel at the end of today? What do you need to do now, so you can feel this way?”

1 Idea From Me

I.

“Never take advice from someone who is not in the position you want to be in”.

👍🏾 Things I’ve enjoyed this week

  • Opal (productivity app) - This is hands down the best app I’ve ever downloaded (not sponsored). Basically, it automatically blocks certain apps in a schedule of your choice. I’ve set it to block all my social media apps from 9am-9pm everyday and has honestly improved my life so much. This link gives you a free 30-day guest pass to try the pro version out! I personally just use the free option, which I think is enough.

  • Challengers (movie) - I really like Zendaya, and she really played her role here as a tennis player so well. Highly recommend!

  • Energenzier smart bulb (tech) - I bought this bulb in Poundland for £5. I really didn’t expect much but shocked me how good it is. Spot it in the background of my next videos!

📹 The latest video in case you missed it:

In this video, I breakdown how much junior doctors earn in Australia compared to the NHS.

📚 Highlight of the week

“Many people have a hard time making decisions because they don’t know what is important. When you have a clear mission and you are completely sure what is important to you, most decisions become easy. Once you’re fully committed, you don’t need rules for how to spend your time. It’s obvious which decision to make. It’s clear what to prioritize. Many people don’t need productivity or time management advice. They need conviction.”

How to Afford a House These Days 

In the end, your physical environment – the people, access to nature, urban features and the weather patterns – is probably the most important factor to get right in creating a happy life. The cost of living there is only one of the factors, and definitely not the most important one.

Clock time is not just making an appointment or planning a trip.  It includes learning from the past so that we don't repeat the same mistakes over and over.  Setting goals and working toward them.  Predicting the future by means of patterns and laws, physical, mathematical and so on, learned from the past and taking appropriate action on the basis of our predictions.

Resurfaced to me by Readwise

If you were forwarded this email, subscribe to Doctor Kenji's newsletter and get the next edition in your inbox. Subscribe here.

📧 Want to sponsor this email newsletter? Simply reply to this email and I'll get back to you soon.

Did you enjoy this week's issue? Help me improve!

Click on a link to vote:

Want to learn more from me? Check these out👇

❓🤔 Got a question? Chat to me directly and receive a guaranteed and quick response (<1 hour): https://app.minnect.com/expert/KenjiTomita

🩺 (Free) How to Get into Medical School - From Application to Doctor: https://skl.sh/2TwpH0N

👨🏼‍💻 An Essay Writing Masterclass - The Best Essay Writing Technique: https://courses.kenjitomita.co.uk

🏥 My Online Medicine Interview Course: https://courses.kenjitomita.co.uk

📑 Study notes, my university personal statements, dissertation and more:https://www.kenjitomita.co.uk/shop 

Please note: all profits are re-invested into the Youtube channel to pay for our resources and team to allow me to continue making free and informative content on YouTube whilst working full-time as a doctor.

🛠 My favourite tools 🔨

📚 Listen to my favourite book of all time (or any other) free on Audible

🥼 My daily hospital scrubs: HappyThreads

🎒 My everyday and travel bag from Menos (use KENJI10 for 10% off)

📝 My favourite iPad screen protector: Paperlike