πŸ’Έ How to Leave Money on the Table

πŸ“ Doctor Kenji's Notes

Hey guys!

I hope you're all having an awesome week.

Firstly, sorry for not sending out a newsletter in the past few weeks. Night shifts, annual leave, travel, and more night shifts have made life quite hectic. This week, I want to talk about something I've been struggling with lately in my quest to make the most of financial opportunities and not miss out on potential income.

The thing is - life always presents chances to earn money. For me, it could be taking up more sponsorships, creating more YouTube videos, or picking up extra shifts at work to save for my future goals. However, for the last few months, I’ve been finding it hard to β€œleave money on the table” by saying no to these potentially lucrative opportunities.

Sure, there are times when it's right to jump at financial opportunities, especially when we're well-rested and in good mental and physical health. But even in these cases, I’m learning that it's okay to turn down extra income. There are moments in life when we might feel overwhelmed and not doing well in other important areas like going to the gym or spending time with friends and family. It's in these situations that I struggle not to accept the extra money, especially when there's a substantial amount involved.

This year, I want to remind myself to consider what else I might be leaving on the table if I decide to pursue these financial gains. Will I be sacrificing time with family? Will my health suffer? Will I lose on an opportunity to deepen my relationship?

Of course, I plan to work hard and make this my best financial year, but I want to remember that it should never come at the cost of other things that matter to me and lead to a fulfilling life. And this doesn’t just apply to money, it also applies to other things that we might struggle to give up in favour of something else.

Now, it's a nuanced situation. If you're in a position where you absolutely need the money to pay bills, you do what you have to do. But if you are in a position where can say no to earning more money, I encourage you to think about what's on your table and what you're willing to sacrifice at that particular time.

I hope you all have a fantastic week and see you on the next one!

Kenji.

πŸ‘πŸΎ Things I’ve enjoyed this week

  • Anyone But You (movie) - I watched this in cinema with my significant other and we absolutely loved it! Great date-night and it’ll have you laughing throughout.

  • Apple wired earphones (tech) - The most annoying thing is getting to work and realising I forgot my airpods at home. So I recently decided to invest in a pair of wired earphones from Apple and I now no longer have this problem. I didn't realize that Apple still make wired earphones and these were only Β£19. Great lifesaver.

  • Captains of the World (Netflix show) - I don't normally watch much football but this was very inspiring to see how athletes at the highest level of performance in the World Cup are so determined to succeed in their career. Great watch even if you are not into football very much.

  • Mini LED light (tech gadget) - One problem I've had is filling up the oil in my car during the night and having this small magnetic light has been super useful especially given there was only a few pounds!

πŸ“Ή The latest video in case you missed it:

πŸ“š Highlight of the week

Essays in Love by Alain de Botton

There is an Arabic saying that the soul travels at the pace of a camel. While most of us are led by the strict demands of timetables and diaries, our soul, the seat of the heart, trails nostalgically behind, burdened by the weight of memory. If every love affair adds a certain weight to the camel’s load, then we can expect the soul to slow according to the significance of love’s burden.

Six Types of Wealth youngmoney.co

A life that is rich in all other regards but deficient in relationships is hollow at best, and depressing at worst. What's the point of having the world if you have no one to share it with? Do you really want to be king if it means residing in a castle of one?

3-2-1: The Beauty of Being an Amateur, How to Respond to a Mistake, and Finding Work That Grips Your Soul

"At some point, you will have to learn to let go. There is an endless list of obligations and expectations, desires and ambitions, and worries and fears that will always be ready to insert themselves between you and the feeling of peace. If you never learn to let them go, there will never be enough." 

Resurfaced to me by Readwise

If you were forwarded this email, subscribe to Doctor Kenji's newsletter and get the next edition in your inbox. Subscribe here.

πŸ“§ Want to sponsor this email newsletter? Simply reply to this email and I'll get back to you soon.

Did you enjoy this week's issue? Help me improve!

Click on a link to vote:

Want to learn more from me? Check these outπŸ‘‡

β“πŸ€” Got a question? Chat to me directly and receive a guaranteed and quick response (<1 hour): https://app.minnect.com/expert/KenjiTomita

🩺 (Free) How to Get into Medical School - From Application to Doctor: https://skl.sh/2TwpH0N

πŸ‘¨πŸΌβ€πŸ’» An Essay Writing Masterclass - The Best Essay Writing Technique: https://courses.kenjitomita.co.uk

πŸ₯ My Online Medicine Interview Course: https://courses.kenjitomita.co.uk

πŸ“‘ Study notes, my university personal statements, dissertation and more:https://www.kenjitomita.co.uk/shop 

Please note: all profits are re-invested into the Youtube channel to pay for our resources and team to allow me to continue making free and informative content on YouTube whilst working full-time as a doctor.

πŸ›  My favourite tools πŸ”¨

πŸ“š Listen to my favourite book of all time (or any other) free on Audible

πŸ₯Ό My daily hospital scrubs: HappyThreads

πŸŽ’ My everyday and travel bag from Menos (use KENJI10 for 10% off)

πŸ“ My favourite iPad screen protector: Paperlike