I GET to do this vs I HAVE to do this

Hey guys! πŸ‘‹ Hope you're all having a fantastic start to your week. Firstly, it's great to be back and posting. πŸ™Œ I'm sorry that I haven't posted in a while - my schedule has gotten increasingly busier since starting work as a doctor but I endeavor to keep this newsletter going and promise to try harder to post more often! πŸ’ͺ

Over the last few months of working as a doctor, there definitely have been times when I get to work and think that I'd much rather be at home or doing something else with my time (if you work a job, I'm sure you know the feeling that I am talking about). 😩 But what I realized is that the way we approach a task can have a significant impact on how we feel about it. πŸ’‘ One simple mindset change that can make tasks more enjoyable is shifting from "I have to do this" to "I get to do this." πŸ€—

When we say "I have to do this," we often view the task as an obligation, something we are required to do even if we don't want to. This mindset can create feelings of resentment, boredom, or even dread, which can make the task more difficult and less enjoyable to complete. πŸ˜”

On the other hand, saying "I get to do this" reframes the task as an opportunity, a chance to learn something new, help someone, or accomplish something meaningful. This mindset can create feelings of excitement, gratitude and even pride, which can make the task more enjoyable to complete. 🌟

So whenever I find myself feeling this way, I always take my mind back to the days when I was applying to medical school, where I would have done absolutely anything to do what I do now on a daily basis. Rather than seeing the ward round as a "task" I remind myself that it's an opportunity to meet new people and make a difference in my patients' lives. By focusing on the positive aspects of what you have to do, you can create a more positive mindset and approach the task with a more positive attitude, making the experience more enjoyable and fulfilling. πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

That's all for this one. See you guys soon!

πŸ§‘β€βš•οΈ DOCTORS.NET.UK - A Great Online Community for Doctors & Med Students

πŸ‘©β€βš•οΈπŸ‘¨β€βš•οΈπŸŒŸ Doctors face many challenges such as heavy workloads, career development, medico-legal concerns, and financial matters, which can be overwhelming at times. Fortunately, Doctors.net.uk provides assistance! πŸ™Œ

For 25 years, the platform has built a secure and exclusive online community for more than 250,000 GMC-registered physicians. This network connects professionals, enables mutual support and delivers relevant healthcare news. πŸ“°πŸ’»

Moreover, Doctors.net.uk offers interactive CPD programmes to advance your professional development, expert advice to optimize your NHS pension, and guidance on how to reduce stress and avoid burnout - all available in one convenient and free location. πŸ’ΌπŸ‘¨β€βš•οΈπŸ’†β€β™‚οΈ

They're committed to supporting you throughout your medical journey right from the beginning of medschool, and even provide you with a professional email address @doctors.org.uk that stays with you throughout your career. πŸŽ“πŸ‘©β€βš•οΈπŸ“§

Join the largest online community of medical students and GMC-registered doctors in the UK by registering for free today here: https://registration.doctors.net.uk/one?pk_campaign=dr-kenji&pk_kwd=newsletter

Thanks to Doctors.net.uk for sponsoring this week's newsletter! πŸ‘πŸΌ

πŸ‘πŸΎ Things I’ve enjoyed this week

Advice For New College Grads (article) - this was a great read about some general life advice for university. Highlighted the heck out of it!

ChatGPT (AI software) - I made a video about this recently on the channel. It's an AI software that has been so helpful in my day-to-day activities, particularly with scripting videos for the channel. Highly recommend you check this out as I do believe it will shape our future.

Talking to my Daughter About the Economy (book) - economist Yanis Varoufakis explains the fundamental principles of economics in a clear and engaging way, using metaphors and real-life examples. He argues that economics is not a dry and complicated subject, but rather a way to understand how the world works and to make it a better place. It's super easy to understand and taught me so much!

Joe Rogan Experience #1309 Naval Ravikant (podcast) - relistened to this episode this week. Possibly one of the greatest podcast episodes I've ever heard in my life with so many lessons about life. A must listen!

πŸ“š Highlight of the week

The Almanack of Naval Ravikant by Eric Jorgenson

The problem with getting good at a game, especially one with big rewards, is you continue playing it long after you should have outgrown it. Survival and replication drive put us on the work treadmill. Hedonic adaptation keeps us there. The trick is knowing when to jump off and play instead.

The Mastery of Love by Don Miguel Ruiz

You have to focus on the most wonderful relationship you can have: the relationship with yourself. It is not about being selfish; it is about self-love. These are not the same. You are selfish with yourself because there is no love there. You need to love yourself, and the love will grow more and more. Then, when you enter a relationship, you don’t go into it because you need to be loved. It becomes a choice. You can choose someone if you want to, and you can see who he really is. When you don’t need his love, you don’t have to lie to yourself.

Resurfaced to me by Readwise

πŸ“§ Want to sponsor this email newsletter? Simply reply to this email and I'll get back to you soon.

Want to learn more from me? Check these outπŸ‘‡

🩺 (Free) How to Get into Medical School - From Application to Doctor: https://skl.sh/2TwpH0N

πŸ‘¨πŸΌβ€πŸ’» An Essay Writing Masterclass - The Best Essay Writing Technique: https://courses.kenjitomita.co.uk

πŸ₯ Online Medicine Interview Course: https://courses.kenjitomita.co.uk

πŸ₯ Join my medicine application mentorship scheme: https://www.kenjitomita.co.uk/plans-pricing

πŸ“Ή The latest video in case you missed it: